Epiphany Season

Epiphany season begins on January 6 and ends on Shrove Tuesday, the last day before Lent. (In the Roman Catholic calendar, Epiphany is celebrated as a single day, and the weeks between January 6 and Ash Wednesday are counted as the first part of Ordinary Time, which continues after the close of Easter season.)

An epiphany is a revelation – a sudden, often-intuitive sighting of the essence that lies behind the world’s mask. For Christians, Epiphany celebrates the visit of the Magi to the infant Jesus, and the recognition that Christ came to Earth for all people.

In the time of King Herod, after Jesus was born in Bethlehem of Judea, wise men from the East came to Jerusalem, asking, “Where is the child who has been born king of the Jews? For we observed his star at its rising, and have come to pay him homage.” …

They set out; and there, ahead of them, went the star that they had seen at its rising, until it stopped over the place where the child was. When they saw that the star had stopped, they were overwhelmed with joy. On entering the house, they saw the child with Mary his mother…

Matthew 2 : 1, 9

An epiphany comes at a turning point on the road. A place where the trip expands into something larger than it seemed at first. A moment that changes not only the route and destination, but also the pilgrim.

Every Epiphany comes with its own journey. And every journey starts with the will and courage (or in some cases, the harebrained craziness) to set out on the road, and to be vulnerable to change.

By the grace of God, this will, courage, craziness, and vulnerability seems to be built right into us.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: